Am I a massive sexist?


And with that I didn’t post yesterday!

Browsing through my Last.fm the other day I was suddenly struck by the lack of female artists in my Top 50. I don’t really strive for a 50/50 parity in the music I listen to, it’s never really occured to me, I sort of assumed that women would be a bit better represented in my music taste. But from my top 50 artists

Bjork
Candida Doyle of Pulp
Meg White of The White Stripes
Sarah Neufeld and Regine Cassagne of Arcade Fire
Juanita Stein of Howling Bells
Nancy Whang of LCD Soundsystem
M.I.A
Karen O of Yeah Yeah Yeahs
And Kate Jackson, Reenie Hollis and Emma Chapin of The Long Blondes

So that’s 12 females of my 50 top artists. And only 6 of them could be considered some way influential in the way the band or artists sounds. This pattern is reflected amongst most of my friends and neighbours on Last.fm so perhaps it’s more of a ‘problem’ with the music industry as a whole. Or perhaps just a bias in the genres of music I listen to.

On purely anecdotal evidence there does seem to be a male/female divide when it comes to the types of instrument people play. Men tend to play instruments related to rock, guitars, bass guitars and drums. Whereas females tend to play more ‘classical’ instruments. There definately is and always has been the sterotype of a guitar being a typically male instrument. I think it’s important that female songwriters get the chance to have their voices heard as loudly as their male counterparts, so perhaps we should encourage more females to get involved in music.

Afterall would a man be able to get away with this triumph of improvisational dancing (and songwriting)?

Leave a Reply

