Daily Archives: September 22, 2009

Tweenage girls’ taste in music just got better

I have a penis and a snobby outlook on life, so I’ve never read or watched anything to do with the Twilight series. I’m probably too old for it, anyway; I got tired of Harry Potter after the Goblet of Fire and haven’t really looked back. When I grew tired of teenage emo wizards, I grew tired of tween trends in general.

But that could be all set to change. Teenage emo vampires are in and they’ve got a pretty awesome soundtrack. Sure, you could let things like ‘artist credibility’ and ‘principles’ blind you, but this is set to be the Indie super-compilation album of the second half of 2009, at least. Be excited. Be happy.

Perhaps more importantly, it’s going to improve the music tastes of teenage girls everywhere. They love this shit. I know a few of them and they pretty much owe their limited musical knowledge to Twilight. Previously that would’ve been a bad thing.They’ve been going batshit mental over Muse lately, the bad Muse, the post Absolution Muse. It’s an ugly sight. But now they’re getting Thom Yorke, Grizzly Bear, Bon Iver and St Vincent. It can only be a good thing. As long as they don’t show up at Radiohead shows and scream for ‘that song from Twilight!’ the Creep crowd are bad enough…

I’ll admit I was a little disappointed at first; A little scared, anxious, nervous, but now I see the light. It’s going to be fine, brothers. Just as long as Grizzly Bear haven’t signed up for the truly horrifying spectre of the Hot Topic tour.

MP3: Grizzly Bear – Foreground
MP3: Bon Iver – Skinny Love